Lynx Trail

Through wild central Austria

The Lynx Trail is a long-distance trail with 11 stages through three large internationally recognised protected areas and fringes Austria's first UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site (beech forests). It goes through Austria's wild, wooded central area, repeatedly recognised by the Alpine Convention as a pilot region for its ecological network.
The lynx is the symbol of the mystery of wilderness. The trail follows ecological stepping-stones created for the lynx and takes you right through its habitat. You can feel its presence. The trail can give walkers a spiritual connection with wilderness and reawakens our need for a primal connection with nature. Hikers on the trail are in the presence of something wonderful, even if they don’t see a lynx.

You can now book the Lynx Trail online!

Combine the complete freedom of a backpacker with the services of a modern hiking destination! The trail-booking portal offers you endless choices and a comprehensive service: You start WHEN you want, WHERE you want, with WHOM you want, and above all HOW you want!
Along the Lynx Trail, you can take advantage of selected partner companies, a handy luggage and shuttle service and a trail hotline.
This turns your hiking trip on the Lynx Trail into a carefree outdoor experience, individually organised and supported by a competent information and booking centre.

The Protected Areas

The Lynx Trail goes from the Kalkalpen National Park into Gesäuse National Park, and from there into the Dürrenstein Wilderness Area. Parts of the area belong to Austria's first UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site (beech forests).

Luchs Trail

Durch Österreichs Wilde Mitte.

Der Luchs Trail ist ein Weitwanderweg mit 11 Etappen durch 3 international anerkannte Großschutzgebiete und berührt Österreichs erstes Weltnaturerbe. Er führt durch Österreichs wilde (Wald-)Mitte, die von der Alpenkonvention als Pilotregion für den ökologischen Verbund wiederholt ausgezeichnet wurde.
Der Luchs ist Sinnbild für die Mystik der Wildnis. Der Trail folgt den für den Luchs geschaffenen ökologischen Trittsteinen und führt mitten durch seinen Lebensraum. Seine Anwesenheit ist spürbar. Somit dient er auch als Medium für einen spirituellen Zugang zur Wildnis und stillt die Sehnsucht nach den eigenen Ursprüngen. Wanderer am Trail sind in der Gegenwart des Wunderbaren, auch wenn sie den Luchs nicht zu Gesicht bekommen.

Luchs Trail jetzt online buchbar!

Verbinde die absolute Freiheit eines Backpackers, mit dem Service einer modernen Wanderdestination! Das Trail Buchungsportal bietet
dir grenzenlose Wahlmöglichkeiten und einen umfassenden Service: Du startest WANN du willst, WO du willst, mit WEM du
willst und vor allem WIE du willst!

Entlang des Luchs Trails stehen ausgewählte Partnerbetriebe, ein praktischer Gepäck- und Shuttle Service und eine Trail-Hotline zur Verfügung.
Damit wird aus deiner Wanderreise am Luchs Trail ein unbeschwertes Outdoor Erlebnis, welches von einem kompetenten Info- und Buchungscenter
individuell organisiert und begleitet wird.

Die Schutzgebiete

Der Luchs Trail führt vom Nationalpark Kalkalpen in den Nationalpark Gesäuse und von dort weiter ins Wildnisgebiet Dürrenstein. Teile des Gebietes gehören zum ersten UNESCO-Weltnaturerbe Österreichs (Buchenwälder).